Endotoxin Detection Challenges Associated With The Development Of A Novel VLP



14th November 2023 | 10:00am EST / 7:00am PST / 3:00pm GMT / 4:00pm CET | Aleksandra Moleda, Senior Development Scientist at Allergy Therapeutics and Dr Matt Heath, R&D Principal Scientist Allergy Therapeutics |WATCH FOR FREE

Endotoxins, otherwise known as lipopolysaccharides (LPS), are non-infectious pyrogens associated with the cell membrane structure of Gram-negative bacteria. This presentation outlines endotoxin detection challenges encountered during the development of a novel virus-like particle (VLP). Furthermore, this presentation provides a review of current methodologies accepted within the industry to measure both endotoxin (i.e., LPS) and non-endotoxin pyrogens (NEPs).

There is no specific endotoxin test for VLPs, but they can be problematic during downstream processing, so the focus of the webinar would be to discuss approaches to address endotoxins and pyrogens, including the testing. General benefits and limitations from scientific and regulatory compliance for each endotoxin or pyrogen test will also be discussed.

Presented by Aleksandra Moleda, Senior Development Scientist at Allergy Therapeutics

Endotoxin Detection Challenges Associated With The Development Of A Novel VLP Presented by Aleksandra Moleda, Senior Development Scientist at Allergy Therapeutics

Aleksandra holds a BSc (Hons) in Cell Biology from the University of Stirling and an MSc (Distinction) in Biomedical Sciences from the University of Glasgow. With a keen interest in immunology, Aleksandra pursued a PhD in medicine at the University of Dundee, where she specialised in the development of novel virus-like particle (VLP) platforms. Following the successful completion of her PhD, Aleksandra worked to improve conventional kidney dialysis at Invizius. Since 2022, Aleksandra has been a Senior Development Scientist with Allergy Therapeutics (UK) Ltd. and is currently working on the development of a novel immunotherapeutic vaccine (VLP Peanut) for the treatment of peanut allergic patients.

Joining as a panellist is Dr Matt Heath, R&D Principal Scientist Allergy Therapeutics

Dr Matt Heath, R&D Principal Scientist Allergy Therapeutics

Matt is responsible for all internal and external scientific activities related to non-clinical vaccine research, translational sciences, biomarker research, and intellectual property. He completed a PhD in Biochemistry and Microbiology at the University College London


We will not sell your information to a third party. See our Privacy Policy

Biopharma Webinars