Advanced Technologies for Media and Process Optimization for Biologics Manufacturing



17th October 2023 | 2:30pm KST / 1:30pm CST / 11:00am IST / 7:30am CEST / 6:30am BST | Dr. Yaron Silberberg, Chief Scientist & Head of Customer Solution Center at Ajinomoto Genexine |WATCH FOR FREE

Cell culture media composition and upstream bioprocess conditions are crucial factors affecting protein yield in the production of biologics and biosimilars. Recently, advanced new techniques were developed that use IT approaches, including computer simulation of bioprocesses, AI tools, and multi-omics methods for the analysis of cellular metabolic pathways. These techniques allow optimization of both process and media composition for maximizing culture performance and protein production. In my talk, I will discuss the importance of cell culture media optimization and feeding conditions for achieving the most out of biological pipelines. I will also discuss other supplements that can help achieve faster cell growth and higher productivity.

Main Topics:

  • DoE approaches for media formulation and feeding optimization
  • ‘Digital Twins’ bio-simulations for reducing wet data requirements and allowing rapid optimization of feeding manner
  • Multi-omics and metabolic flux analysis for identification of metabolic bottlenecks and critical media components, for the development of enhanced basal and feed media
  • Supplements for productivity enhancement

Presented by Dr. Yaron Silberberg, Chief Scientist & Head of Customer Solution Center at Ajinomoto Genexine

Digital twins - AI Tools and ‘multi-omics’ for cel culture media optimization in bioprocessing. Presented by Dr. Yaron Silberberg, Chief Scientist & Head of Customer Solution Center at Ajinomoto Genexine

Yaron Silberberg completed his Ph.D. in Bio-Nanotechnology at University College London (UCL), in the field of cell biomechanics. He then moved to Japan to continue his research at Kyoto University and at the Advanced Institute for Science and Technology (AIST), as well as the MIT overseas campus in Singapore, working on the development of biosensors and nanoneedle bio-chips for drug and protein delivery, as well as microfluidic devices for in-vitro diagnostics (IVDs) of cancers. Following that, he joined the University of Tokyo in Japan as an associate professor, teaching biotechnology courses and organizing student exchange programs with top global universities. In 2018, Yaron moved to Korea to join Ajinomoto Genexine Co., Ltd., where he is currently working as Chief Scientist and Head of the R&D and Customer Solutions Center, focusing on cell culture media development and process optimization for biotherapeutics production

Sponsored by Yokogawa Insilico Biotechnology GmbH

Digital twins - AI Tools and ‘multi-omics’ for cell culture media optimization in bioprocessing. Yokogawa Insilico Biotechnology GmbH

Yokogawa Insilico Biotechnology GmbH specializes in developing and delivering predictive Digital Twins that advance biopharmaceutical process development and manufacturing. By leveraging artificial intelligence and biochemical networks, Insilico’s Digital Twins of cell culture processes provide superior productivity, product quality, and process robustness. This ground-breaking technology substantially reduces the need for experimental effort, cuts costs of goods, and accelerates time to market. As a result, leading biopharmaceutical companies worldwide rely on Insilico Digital Twins for cell line development, media design, and process control. Founded in 2001, Yokogawa Insilico Biotechnology GmbH, based in Stuttgart, Germany, is a subsidiary of Yokogawa Corporate Electric Corporation, headquartered in Tokyo, Japan.


We will not sell your information to a third party. See our Privacy Policy

Biopharma Webinars